Climate Change!!

I watched this amazing documentary on Climate change called ‘Before the Flood’ narrated by Leonardo DiCaprio. If you haven’t watched it yet, I urge you to do it now!!

So, after watching the documentary I’ve been thinking of ways in which I can change my own lifestyle so that I can decrease my carbon footprint. I’ll keep adding to this list as I get more ideas:

  1. Try to make use of the day time as much as possible over night time. This will reduce my electricity consumption.
  2. From now on, I will print stuff only when absolutely required, like assignment submissions or other things where I need to submit hard copies.
  3. Carbon emissions of Beef >> Chicken >> Vegetables. I don’t eat beef anyway and where I live it’s not even available for consumption thanks to Hinduism absolutely shunning the killing of cows. But I do eat chicken and mutton. I lived as a vegetarian(consumed milk products and eggs) for 3 years(till April 2016) and gave up on vegetarianism when I lived in Singapore because it’s NOT easy to get decent vegetarian meals in Singapore. You have to invest additional time and energy for that  and I wasn’t really interested in doing that. So, I started eating meat again after I lived in Singapore and then I continued doing that after I came back to India as well.I’ll go back to my vegetarianism now and continue doing that till I feel that I would need to invest too much time and energy to maintain this diet.
Leave a Reply

